Skip to Accessibility Tools Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Types of Diabetes

Diabetes includes a group of diseases of which there are three main types: type 1 diabetes mellitus, type 2 diabetes mellitus, and gestational diabetes. Additionally, people who have elevated blood sugar that does not quite reach the threshold for diagnosis of diabetes are said to have prediabetes. These individuals are at increased risk for developing diabetes in the future.

In addition to the three main types of diabetes, there are several other forms of the disease. These include what is called type 1.5 diabetes (also sometimes called double diabetes or latent autoimmune diabetes in adults [LADA]), which has the characteristics of both type 1 and type 2 diabetes.2

Other forms of diabetes are identified by their causes, including specific genetic defects, diseases of the pancreas, immune-mediated (autoimmune) diseases, hormonal imbalances caused by another disease or disorder, diabetes caused by medications, and diabetes caused by infections.

Written by: Jonathan Simmons | Last reviewed: May 2014.
1. Diabetes Overview. National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC). Available at: Accessed 12/04/13.